Nanny Stereotypes

16 Feb

My Nanny friends and I always discuss the ways in which people view/judge us–or at least what we believe goes on in their heads when they see us with the children that we care for.  I decided to Google “Nanny Stereotypes” and I stumbled upon a great article from “The Stir” entitled: “Nanny Stereotypes Need to End Now”.  I agree wholeheartedly with the angle of the article.  Those that are stereotyping Nannies need to come to the realization of how important our jobs really are.  Contrary to popular belief, we are not “babysitters”.  We do not sit around all day, sipping our coffee, chit chatting on the phone, without paying attention to the kids.  Don’t get me wrong, I know some Nannies that have these activities on their daily agenda, but all that can’t go unnoticed when the caregiver shows how much interest she REALLY has in the child.

Anywho, this is not a rant; I just wanted it to be known that we are important as Nannies.  Our good deeds should not go unnoticed and others should not be so quick to judge.  I cannot tell you how many times I’ve been at the park and neighborhood Moms are watching me like a hawk with the “Smith” children (names changed lol).  If I am not being outright lazy or rude with the kids, then please, refrain from the staring.  Similarly to Mothers, we care for precious cargo too.  That should earn respect in itself.

As Nannies, we are people too.  To outsiders: come over, introduce yourself, and get to know us.  You may be surprised.

And to my fellow Nannies: there is only one weapon of mass destruction; kindness.  Kill everyone with kindness–and I mean everyone.

(Photo Courtesy of Babble.com)

Leave a Reply

